Howdy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Howdy

Just come across the site and it looks like my kind of place. I'm a self-taught genealogist for the last 20 years and a amateur Civil War buff , I look forward to the conversation.

Welcome aboard Grey Rider!

Comment

Originally posted by Grey Rider View Post
      Just come across the site and it looks like my kind of place. I'm a self-taught genealogist for the last 20 years and a amateur Civil War buff , I look forward to the conversation.
      Welcome.

I hate to state the obvious, but everyone is a self-taught genealogist as long as their mother was telling the truth or they weren't adopted.
      Tactics are based on Weapons... Strategy on Movement... and Movement on Supply.
      (J. F. C. Fuller 1878-1966)

Comment

Originally posted by General Staff View Post
        Welcome.

I hate to state the obvious, but everyone is a self-taught genealogist as long as their mother was telling the truth or they weren't adopted.
        Well let me rephrase that then. I've been actively tracing my roots along with other families for the last 20 or so years.

Comment

Welcome Grey Rider!

I hope you enjoy your stay.

Just curious, so what has your research revealed?
          "We have no white flag."

Comment

Well I have my fathers line traced back to the 1500's in Trupbach , Germany. In the early 1700's Governor Alexander Spotwood of Virginia was offering land for people who could work with iron to start a colony. Most of the men of age were members of the Steelsmiths and Toolmakers Guild in Germany so they packed up and headed over. They settled the Germmana colony in what is now Orange County Virginia. Their name still marks a lot of places , churches , cemeterys , schools , Rectors Crossroads , a CW battle site.