Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jobs in the field of History

Hey ya'll,
    So I wasnt sure where exatly to put this post, but this looked my best bet. In early May I am graduating from college with a Bachelors degree in History and suprise suprise Im not sure what Im going to go with it yet So I was wondering besides teaching what other jobs you guys knew about in the field of history that would be worth looking into. So let me know what you think and besides great advice for me I figure it would make for good discussion too.

Thanks, DJ

Thanks for looking!!

I have a degree in Sociology w/a minor in History....

Good luck finding a job, bro.

I work a crappyish job in adult foster care. Very loosely related to my field of study, definitely not a career.

Not a lot of luck with applications anywhere else.
    Last edited by Emil_G; 10 Apr 08, 01:29.

Comment

Like psychology, I think it is one of those fields where you need a master's or doctor's degree to do anything but teach...at least in your field.

Don't alot of museums and battlefields usually employee historians?

Comment

Originally posted by Biscuit View Post
        Like psychology, I think it is one of those fields where you need a master's or doctor's degree to do anything but teach...at least in your field.

Don't alot of museums and battlefields usually employee historians?
        Mostly they hire students at low wages.

For Historian I would it would somewhat depend on what your focus was.
        FoxNEWS "The World is unfair and we are running scared"

Comment

A little more thought about this. If your focus in History is more recent events the news media might have opportunities. There is also policy groups both governmental and corporate that might find your education useful. I suspect as history major you should be familiar with document research, so you could look for employment in the field.

I suspect there is more then just teaching.