Teaching some military history?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teaching some military history?

I just began reading Adrian Goldsworthy's The Fall of Carthage and in his introduction he says that many primary schools no longer teach about military history. I am a high school history teacher and I am finding it difficult to infuse military history into lessons. I have a handful of students that want to know more about battles and tactics who come after school to inquire more. I know that there are some more that are interested, but they really need a kick in the pants to get the ball rolling. If I could touch on it a bit more in class it would hopefully light that fire. The problem is that military history is too complex and grasping the idea of how battles are won does not make sense to many of the students. It is the "naturals" who come to me after school. They are playing video games like Rome Total War or any number of hex based games or table top miniature games.

So without any further fluff, does anyone know of some teaching resources online, or anywhere else for that matter, that can help me make military history more tangible and simpler to convey?

Thanks
    "Aaah, the Luftwaffe, the Washington Senators of the History Channel."
    -- Homer J. Simpson

Which aspects/conflicts do you cover or are they interested in?

I was just having a search around and theres a few but seem to be focused on specific subjects rather than a general scope of everything.
    Not lip service, nor obsequious homage to superiors, nor servile observance of forms and customs...the Australian army is proof that individualism is the best and not the worst foundation upon which to build up collective discipline - General Monash

Comment

Originally posted by Temujin
      Which aspects/conflicts do you cover or are they interested in?