Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Researching information on US Army reports/AAR/etc.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Researching information on US Army reports/AAR/etc.

Good evening !

My name is Fabien, I am a French student, and I am currently looking into an event that occured on August, 7th in Hennebont (Near Lorient, Brittany, France). There are two accounts of the event as recorded in a post-war interview and a book about the 4th Armored :

"Meanwhile C/25 had advanced on a parallel route to the north of the main column and had become engaged with a battalion of Georgian Horse Cavalry. While it contained this force by attacking from the east, C and B Companies of the 37th attacked from the south completely destroying it. The lead horses of this battalion, its field trains, and most of its personnel were caught in a sunken road by C Company which drove through the force in column. After it had passed through, it was necessary to use a tank dozer to clear the road of the bodies of men and horses and wrecked equipment before the lighter vehicles of the command could pass through."