Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first build as an adult

Hi all.

I'm new to this hobby if you don't count my dabbling as a kid with Matchbox a/c in 1:72 and Matchbox AFV's in 1:76. But that was mostly in the early eighties.

(I'm reusing the text I first wrote when I first published this AFV two years ago. Haven't built so many kits since then so I'm still consider myself an beginner that want's more and I still don't have an airbrush)

So after seeing other people's work I got interested to try and start all over again now when I'm older and more relaxed. So I wen't looking at the local toy store and fell for Academy's M3 Stuart "Honey" in 1:35 scale. Well I bought it at 249 SEK and went home, dug out my old Humbrol stack and started to paint with brush om the frames (I don't own an airbrush). For a start I didn't like the meager paintguide in the instruction that doesn't refer to a specific brand and colornumber and instead just give you generic colornames and that strange greyblue color, arrrgh. Well it was just to do some research and did come up with using Humbrol #93, 31 & 30.

I did find the kit easy to build with good fitting parts, next to no excesive castings to scrape of and nice instructions. The decals though was bad, I had big trouble to get 'em to stick and had to paint the stripes on the sideskirts since they wouldn't stick.

Weathering has been done with pastells and Terpinex as medium, applyed with a brush and rubbed off with a artist paper pen and cottonbuds.

All in all it took me 39 hours to complete the modell not counting my time researching colors.

The safest place in Korea was behind a platoon of Marines. Lord how they could fight! - MGEN Frank Lowe, U.S. Army.
    ----
    We got a kinder, gentler, Machine gun hand - N.Y.

Welcome! Honey looks great!
    If you can't set a good example, be a glaring warning.

Comment

Nice work, and 'Bugger' is a good name for a honey!!!
      Wolster

Comment