Hitler Assassinated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hitler Assassinated

With the movie Valkyrie coming out soon it got me to thinking about the actual real plot to assassinate Hitler. I will confess I am not an expert on the situation but after reading about the plot it seems it could have worked, provided Hitler actually died. The question then becomes, what would the Allies have done? Would they still ask for unconditional surrender or try to end the war quickly to stop the bloodshed? Would Russia simply stop or continue on to Berlin?

On another note, would the assassination of Hitler by say an Allied OSS team, or Russian special forces team, have been an option? Would it turn Hitler into a martyr for the German people and make them defend more fiercely to the end?

I did a quick search on Operation Valkyrie a few days ago and did not see anything about this topic so I apologize if its been started already.

Dan Stueber

The Unconditional Surrender policy was aimed at Facism in general, it applied to Italy and Japan as well, and to German militarism specifically. It was not aimed at Hitler personally. While hitler was recognized as the key German leader there was not the same obssesion with him as these days. The Allied leaders accepted the Unconditional Surrender policy as a key part of the foundation of establishing some sort of future peace globally. They were recalling how the half measures and failures of the Versailles Treaty represented a larger failure to suppress militarism in Europe twentyfive years earlier.

When the assasination attempt of 1944 became know the Allied leaders made several public pronouncements that a sucessfull coup or assasination would change nothing in Allied policy.

Were you aware that Hilter came within ten minutes of dying in a bomb explosion in 1939?

http://members.iinet.net.au/~gduncan..._attempts.html

Comment