Is Defending the Reich plausible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is Defending the Reich plausible?

I orignially put this in games but I figured maybe it went better in the AH section.

I love Panzer General II, and play it often, but when I think somehow the Nazis don't rule the Fatherland, I have to play the Defending the Reich scenario. Yes, I cheat, I'm not good at the game, except when I play Blitzkrieg and lose in Russia and go to Defending the Reich with my custom army. Let's break down my questions:

1. Assume you start in 1942 and everything is historical to that point. Could victories at Stalingrad, Kursk, Selarno, Strasbourg and Budapest save the Reich?

2. Alternatively consider Defending the Reich via Blitzkrieg. If you win Sealion 1940, Defending the Reich can't happen. Assuming though, you win crippling victories against the Brits at Malta and storm into Egypt (and yes I believe it could be done, difficult but doable), and score crippling victories against the Russians in 1941, could Defending the Reich actually SAVE the Reich?

3. Could a commander ever feasibly been at all these battles, either method one or two?

I ask because this AH story I keep talking about is heavily influenced by the Defending the Reich campaign.

Thanks in advance.
    How many Allied tanks it would take to destroy a Maus?
    275. Because that's how many shells there are in the Maus. Then it could probably crush some more until it ran out of gas. - Surfinbird

I'm guessing it's not plausible? Then the question becomes, when is the last point where the Germans could negotiatiate a peace of any kind?
    275. Because that's how many shells there are in the Maus. Then it could probably crush some more until it ran out of gas. - Surfinbird

Comment

Originally posted by Wolery View Post
      I'm guessing it's not plausible? Then the question becomes, when is the last point where the Germans could negotiatiate a peace of any kind?