Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• US doesn't sell T-34 design to Russia

What is the effect?

I am going to learn something new today. can you tell me the source of the T-34 design that was US ? I thought it was the engine only, but I can be wrong here (I'm not an expert in history of tank design)
    "Freedom cannot exist without discipline, self-discipline, and rights cannot exist without duties. Those who do not observe their duties do not deserve their rights."--Oriana Fallaci

Comment

'The US' did not sell the design for the T34 to the Soviets.
      That would be like saying Britain sold the Germans the design for the Pz.1 as they evaluated and used systems from Carden Lloyds in it's technological development.

Walter Christie supplied tank technology to the world in a market environment. Technology was aquired covertly by the Soviets via two 'front' companies, Arcos in the UK and Amtorg in the US.

Amtorg got 2 of Christie's T3 models out of the country in 1930 and had signed an 'exclusive' deal with him before the American authorities even began to ask questions. It was a significant moment in the future birth of the T34 but very far from a 'sale', the Russians created the T34, Christies suspension was a part of it's evolution, as it was in any other design that used the system.

One other interesting US aspect of the T34's evolution is in the transmission system; when the Americans got hold of their first evaluation model they found it was a direct copy of a system they had rejected approximately 15 years before as unsuitable for tracked vehicles and far too noisy.

To answer the question more directly though, if there were no T34 with Christie suspension there would be one with any of the other suspension technologies that Russia became so effective at applying, it just may not have been quite so fast.

Cheers,
      abc.

Comment

Good stuff abc.

Comment

Originally posted by abc View Post