Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tiger 1 vs King Tiger

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum. I'm a bit of a newbie concerning tank history but became interested after working on a documentary this past winter about tank restorations tanking place around the world.

My question concerns the Tiger I and King Tiger tanks. I'm fascinated by the German tank engineering from around this time, but I get confused during my research while reading all these sites. It seems when I think I'm reading about the King Tiger, all of a sudden, the paragraph is talking about the Tiger II and I can't differentiate them both.

What I'm trying to understand is how different the King Tiger was to the Tiger I. I understand that the King Tiger came a few years after the launch of the Tiger I, but was it all that different in terms of features and appearance? I found this paragraph on the Achtung Panzer! site:

The first King Tigers produced, from January to September 1944 were coated with Zimmerit anti-magnetic mine paste, except the three prototypes. Some vehicles produced before June were also fitted with deep fording equipment, but this was mainly for testing purposes. Overall, during production, numerous modifications were made to the vehicles, including: replacement of gaskets and seals, type of tracks used, installation of sockets, installation of additional track links, etc. None of the modifications significantly changed the appearance or performance of the tank.

Am I to understand that this is written in comparison to the Tiger I?

Any help to finally straighten this in my mind would be greatly appreciated. This is an amazing site and I'm really enjoying the topics you guys are putting up.

Well welcome to the board, I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than myself will come along shortly, but here it is: