Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

British Citizens of Japanese Descent - what were their experiences like during WWII?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• British Citizens of Japanese Descent - what were their experiences like during WWII?

Greetings all! Complete newbie here, but I hope to seek answers to a question that's been bothering me for some time.

As stated in the title, is there anyone who knows anything at all about the Japanese-British experience during WWII? I think most of us know about the internment and relocation in the Americas, but I feel like very little is known about treatment of people of Japanese descent in Britain before, during, and after the war.

Anyone who might be able to shed any light on this - whether with actual resources or their own individual knowledge - would be a lifesaver!

I know of only one a Mr Ohara - a Japanese journalist who had served in WW1 with the British Army on the Somme and later with the RFC/RAF as a sergeant pilot whilst remaining a Japanese citizen. He was still living and working in Britain in December 1941 and was allowed to continue doing so through the rest of the war. In general whilst enemy aliens were interned any one with British citizenship was allowed to go about their business regardless of their erthnic origins (although there would have been some brainless louts who might have thrown bricks etc) and would even have been liable for conscription.
    Last edited by MarkV; 28 Dec 15, 17:46.
    Human history becomes more and more a race between education and catastrophe (H G Wells)
    Mit der Dummheit kaempfen Goetter selbst vergebens (Friedrich von Schiller)

Comment

I don't think they were a great many Japanese living in the UK. Most were living in British Asian colonies. Many Japanese in Malaya came out in uniform after the conquest of Malaya.