Is an APDS Round Unstoppable?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is an APDS Round Unstoppable?

With all of the new defensive additions to armoured vehicles in the last 20 years, is there anything around that can defeat a solid shot delivered at hyper velocity?

It seems to me, and believe me I'm no expert on tank gunnery or armour design, that Cobham armour and reactive plates are only effective (if at all) against hollow charge warheads. Based on how they are designed to work neither CA or RP would even slow down a good piece of spent uranium burrowing its way through steel like butter.

I could probably look all of this up but I do enjoy the discussions on here. Is there anything that can stop an APDS round from penetrating a modern tank's armour?

Cheers,
    Dan.
    So long as men worship the Caesars and Napoleons, Caesars and Napoleons will duly rise and make them miserable.

Aldous Huxley: Ends and Means (1937)

Just to get things going...

Kinetic energy penetrators or APFSDS(Armour Piercing Fin Stabilised Discarding Sabot) has to deal with MBTs and other armoured vehicles fitted with Reactive Armour.
    Here is an interesting read about the Russian Kontakt-5 ERA against long rod penetrators. http://fofanov.armor.kiev.ua/Tanks/EQP/era.html
    Last edited by Achtung Baby; 11 Nov 12, 01:24.
    "In modern war... you will die like a dog for no good reason."
    Ernest Hemingway.

"The more I learn about people, The more I love my dog".
    Mark Twain.

Comment

Video evidence not withstanding I find it incredible that an ERA box would have time to explode and disrupt the penetrator.
      I don't doubt the evidence, I just find it hard to comprehend the infitisemally small amount of time a penetrator would take to penetrate the ERA box.
      Common sense tells me that the penetrator would be boring through the main armour before the explosive can propogate to its full potential.