The other Rome vs Han thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The other Rome vs Han thread

Lets compare and contrast the NON-military aspects of the Roman Republic/Empire and the Han Dynasty.

All is fair game except military. I would love to hear your thoughts on:

economy
    taxation
    government stability
    agriculture
    infrastructure
    political philosophy
    organization

I'm just gonna compare the period in which both were empires (ignoring the Roman Republic) from my limited knowledge.

economy - both were primarily agricultural grain-based economies supplemented by trade, one relied on poor peasantry, the relied based on poor peasantry and slaves. The population for both empires were about the same. (tied)

taxation - grain tax and tax based on commodities such as salt and metal. The Han Dynasty probably had a more efficient system of collecting taxes, but I don't know much about the tax collecting methods of either empires so I'll say it's even. (tied)

government stability - Both were monarchies and turmoil arose during power transfers. The Han Empire fluctuated from a federation to empire to confederation whereas Roman Empire during the same time period was constantly fracturing as well. I'd say the power transition process was slightly smoother during the Roman Empire, though not by much. (Roman Empire)

agricultural - Rome had large plantations worked by slaves, with good fertile land in the eastern Mediterranean. Han had mass produced iron farming tools, labor saving devices such as water mills, and complex irrigation canals. (Han Empire)

infrastructure - Both had large cities with things such as sewer systems and bathes. The Han had complex canal systems, Romans had extensive roads and aqueducts during the empire. Close but I'd give the advantage to the Romans. (Roman Empire)