Viet Minh Armor?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Viet Minh Armor?

Did the Viet Minh have any tanks or aircraft at their disposal, either purchased from another country (probably Communist China or Soviet Russia) or captured from France? While we are at it, what types of tanks did the French use other than the M24 Chaffee?
    "The Bangalore Torpedo was 50' long and packed with 85 pounds of TNT and you assembled it along the way. By hand. I'd love to meet the ******* who invented it."

Originally posted by BCap View Post
    Did the Viet Minh have any tanks or aircraft at their disposal, either purchased from another country (probably Communist China or Soviet Russia) or captured from France? While we are at it, what types of tanks did the French use other than the M24 Chaffee?
    I'm by no means an expert, but I have never heard of major end items like tanks being sent to the VM from other countries. Those sort of things are not normally sold or given to non-state entities, no matter if you are sympathetic to their cause, especially since unlike rifles and ammunition they require a lot of training, support, and logistics guerrillas really can't provide. It is just not the same as sending rifles. The same is true to an even greater extent to aircraft.
    Кто там?
    Это я - Почтальон Печкин!
    Tunis is a Carthigenian city!

Comment

Some M24 Chaffee, M8 Greyhound and M3 halftrack were captured from the French, but none was actually used during the war.

Comment

Originally posted by chiangshan View Post
        Some M24 Chaffee, M8 Greyhound and M3 halftrack were captured from the French, but none was actually used during the war.
        Any pictures or citations here, or dates of capture, etc.? I thought the French destroyed tanks if they were going to be captured.
        "The Bangalore Torpedo was 50' long and packed with 85 pounds of TNT and you assembled it along the way. By hand. I'd love to meet the ******* who invented it."