Son Tay rescue 11/21/1970

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Son Tay rescue 11/21/1970

I am looking for information on the Son Tay rescue, specifically involvement by Khmer Krom Special Forces including Kanseign Sar. I am looking for independent verification of information I have received detailing the involvement of such forces in the recon/intelligence areas as well as in the actual mission. I am NOT an expert in this field and greatly appreciate someone pointing me to the right resource. Thank you!!

The book on Son Tay is The Raid by Benjamin F. Schemmer. I have not read it and do not know if it contains the information you are looking for.

At The Hurricane's Eye by Greg Walker contained an interesting chapter on Son Tay. I read it some years ago but don't recall it mentioning Khmer Krom. It did mention recon work by a MACV-SOG recon team.
    "Shoot for the epaulets, boys! Shoot for the epaulets!" - Daniel Morgan

Comment

Not sure if this is what you are looking for but I did read about 1,100-man Khmer Krom special forces who participated in the operation (not sure what for), encircled by NVA divisions (not sure where and when), while in support of the US commandos conducting the raid (not sure exactly how), brilliantly fought off those divisions who were in hot pursuit on foot of the US commandos (long before evacuated by choppers), and (they Khmer Krom) obliterated by B-52s. Some seven survivors made it all the way to Khe Sanh where they met a US SOG RT led by a black officer who saved them.

Perhaps this would make more sense to you than to me.

Comment

Never heard of Khmer Krong or SVN SF in support of the raid. How someone would infiltrate a brigade of these guys to within 30 miles of Hanoi without being discovered is a big question. Here's a link I found with a quick google search:

https://groups.google.com/forum/m/?f...sc/pWxMYyzyqns

I read thru it and it just doesn't make sense.