Photo-Etch for Dummies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photo-Etch for Dummies

I'm fairly sure I may have broached this subject before but I think a rehash will help both myself and maybe some others too so here goes;
    I have a pretty big project I'm going to start in the next six months. I've been collecting detail sets, decals and info for two years now and I think I'm ready to start soon. I'm about to start planning out my P-38 Lightning and I hope to enter it in our annual comp. The thing is that I have to do major surgery in cutting open access hatches and engine cowls for this one and I've never done this kind of thing seriously before. My question is this. How does one bend curves into those beautiful copper engine cowls and gun bay doors? Any other tips or advice will be greatly appreciated too.
    The truth? You can't handle the truth! No truth handler you! I deride your truth handling abilities!
    Sideshow Bob.

I would find a curved dowel or piece of wood that you can wrap the PE around. Heat it just a bit and it should keep the correct shape. Of course, heat too much and you'll take the temper out of the metal.
    If you can't set a good example, be a glaring warning.

Comment

At last...thanks Freight.
      Would you use a round dowell? Imagine the cross section shape of a P-38 nose section...I think that some people use the parts they cut out to shape the metal but I'm unsure. This is one of those tricky situations where you don't really get a second chance if you mess it up the first time. Verlinden is expensive and takes a long time to get here.
      The truth? You can't handle the truth! No truth handler you! I deride your truth handling abilities!
      Sideshow Bob.

Comment

Not a PE fan, what so ever, why didn't you just go with scrap plastic?
        I am a simple man. I am by no means smarter than the average man. I am average...yet genius.

Comment

Originally posted by comm. waffle View Post