British History

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• British History

I am not sure if there has been other thread on the site about this (I am sure there probably are, but am too lazy to look thru all the pages to see).... But I am looking for a few good ideas/titles on some books on British History.

Something that does a good to decent job of providing the history of Britain and the British Isles (outside of British History for Dummies that is).
    Last edited by Nukehawg; 24 Aug 07, 13:14.
    Loyal Member (unless a higher bidder comes along anyway) of 5th Armchair General Battalion (5 ACG) of S. INC

A "history of the English speaking peoples" is a good book. I forget hthe author but Im sure amazon will have it. Im no encyclopedia on British history but I studied it at university level. What are you particularly interested in?

Comment

There is also a book called "Ruling Britannia by Glyn Williams and john Ramsden. This covers Britain from 1688 to 1988 and shows the rise of Britain as the first modern industrialised nation and colonial power through to its decline as a major power in the 20th century. As an American you might find this interesting because it covers that period when British and American history in many ways become intertwined.

Comment

Right now.. I am looking for just a very good overall history of Britain. Something that covers the breadth of British History (from before the Romans till present day). I will branch out to more in depth or specific areas later (although most of that will be in the middle age time frame..aka.. From William the Conqueror until the 1800's or so), but for right now, just something overall.
        Loyal Member (unless a higher bidder comes along anyway) of 5th Armchair General Battalion (5 ACG) of S. INC

Comment

A history of the english speaking peoples book is definitley a place to start then.