Jessica the leech

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jessica the leech

New York: Despite a media blitz, the biography of America's best-known soldier from the Iraq war, Jessica Lynch, today appeared unlikely to translate into big cash as the first day of sales fell short of expectations.

After days of magazine covers, TV movies, tabloid tales and television interviews, first-day sales of her authorised biography, I Am a Soldier, Too: The Jessica Lynch Story, fell well short of other high-profile books like Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton's memoir, which had buyers lining up around the block.

Not a single copy had been sold by midday Veterans Day, at a Barnes & Noble store on Chicago's North Side, said an employee who declined to be identified.

"I've yet to have anyone ask about it," the employee said. At a Manhattan Barnes & Noble, an employee described interest as "moderate". "It certainly has not been exceptional." Another nearby store sold one copy by lunchtime.

An online bookseller Amazon.com, said the book ranked 21st in sales, well short of top-selling novel The Da Vinci Code and the latest get-slim-quick fad, The South Beach Diet.

A spokesman for the Lynch family could not be reached for comment, while her publicist at publisher Alfred A. Knopf did not return calls.

Lynch, who joined the Army to get an education and become a teacher, was captured in Iraq in March and held for more than a week.

When her story broke, some painted her as a "Rambo" who went down shooting - an image Lynch herself debunked in the book, saying her rifle jammed and she went down on her knees praying to God.

Her story captured the hearts of many Americans.

Author Rick Bragg, formerly a reporter at The New York Times, wrote in I Am a Soldier, Too that her public appeal was apparent from the start.

"She was a pretty, blonde American soldier and would look good on television," he said.

Knopf offered Lynch and Bragg a $US1 million ($A1.4 million) advance.