Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fire contract workers, switch money around to support the wars?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fire contract workers, switch money around to support the wars?

Wall Street Journal, 12/3/2007:

Iraq war: President Bush demands at least $50 billion in emergency funds. The House approved money with the condition that U.S. aims to end combat role by December 2008.

And the Pentagon says it will send out furlough notices before Christmas for thousands of civilian employees unless it gets more war money.

This probably potentially affects a number of us, especially contract workers.

Does anyone think it will actually happen? That is, that any furlough notices will go out, or that any furloughs will actually happen? Will Congress cave in, or will the Administration cave in?

Well, obviously as a contractor I'm going to disagree that this would be a good plan. I don't think there will be furloughs -- Congress is already showing signs of doing their duty on this and supporting the military.
    Barcsi János ispán vezérőrnagy
    Time Magazine's Person of the Year for 2003 & 2006

"Never pet a burning dog."

RECOMMENDED WEBSITES:
    http://www.mormon.org
    http://www.sca.org
    http://www.scv.org/
    http://www.scouting.org/

Comment

I thought the government supported the war, but not the troops....
      "Freedom cannot exist without discipline, self-discipline, and rights cannot exist without duties. Those who do not observe their duties do not deserve their rights."--Oriana Fallaci

Comment

Once again the Democratic party have painted themselves into a no win corner.

Just today Murtha is proclaiming that the 'surge' is working while old harry 'dingbat' Reid is still plying the same old 'woe is me all is lost' song.
        "If you are right, then you are right even if everyone says you are wrong. If you are wrong then you are wrong even if everyone says you are right." William Penn.

Comment