War in the East Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• War in the East Help

I am just a beginner. All I have played is Axis and Allies series boardgames. I am getting really interested in the War in the East advertised here at AG. Is it something a relative beginner can play without help. I have fairly good undertanding of the actual historical war that the game is modeled after. I also have a good background in Orbats, TOEs and warfare history.
    Last edited by Slim; 05 May 11, 03:39.

Slim, I haven't played the game, but, I am made to understand that the tactical unit in the game is the regiment. That would lead to a LARGE amount of units on the board.
    "Look, a golden winged ship is passing my way"
    And I really didn't have to stop...I just kept on going.

"Castles Made Of Sand"-Jimi Hendrix from Axis:Bold As Love 1967

Comment

The tactical unit in the game is the division. Only sometimes you can split a divison into 3 regiments. So the count of units in the game is easy to handle.
      The game is really amazing. For the start there are some small szenarios, there you can learn the gameplay.
      The game is easy to play, but hard to master. There are so many things you can do.
      Its a good choice for a hardcore strategy gamer.
      If you have detail questions, you are always welcome.

Comment

Hi Slim.

Let me start by saying I have not played War in the East.

I have dabbled with War in the Pacific, which is its brother in design.

I am not convinced that this is a good game to start with. While the mechanics aren't too complex the game's scale is enormous. War in the East is a monster game. Guys with lots of experience playing the game will take about an hour to complete one turn.

Think about that.

That isn't to say it not a great game - there is really nothing else out there like it. Dollar for dollar I suspect you'll be hard pressed to find a game with more depth and longevity.