Civ IV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Civ IV

OK I have been playing for over 2 months now. I can win at warlord but when I move to noble I am toast. It seems the AI surpasses me and attacks me at perfectly the right time. Anybody care to offer this newbie any strategy hints? I build wonders as much as I can, but where i get outclassed is in the tech department. I mostly play as Napoleon.
    http://canadiangenealogyandresearch.ca

Soviet and Canadian medal collector!

What do you do as far as research and commerce is concerned?

I usually keep research as high as possible (as long as my revenue is positive), and I usually do pretty well in techs.
    "In mathematics you don't understand things. You just get used to them."
    - Johann von Neumann

"Never in the face of human conflict has so much been owed by so many to so few."
    - Winston Churchill

Comment

Well I build libraries, marketplaces, harbours etc... but if I spend too much time on my economy, I lag in the military and get attacked and overun quite quickly. What wonders are crucials?

Comment

Originally posted by dannybou
        Well I build libraries, marketplaces, harbours etc... but if I spend too much time on my economy, I lag in the military and get attacked and overun quite quickly. What wonders are crucials?
        Sorry, I meant your percentage of income spent on research (and what is left over goes to commerce). The percentage in the upper-left hand corner. I keep mine as high as possible, but I know some people (Overseer IIRC) lowers his research right off the bat.

I don't concentrate on wonders too much. I should build more of them. I like to get The Pyramids (world wonder) before everyone else. The Oracle (national wonder) is a must.
        "In mathematics you don't understand things. You just get used to them."
        - Johann von Neumann

"Never in the face of human conflict has so much been owed by so many to so few."
        - Winston Churchill

Comment