Is gaming dead, dying, or just done?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is gaming dead, dying, or just done?

I have been pondering this question due to recent personal activities.

I'm a veteran board gamer. It was my generation that made role gaming happen. It is my generation that took board gaming into the realm of digital gaming.

Wargaming was once something done with miniatures on a table. It became something with a paper map and cardboard counters in the 70s more or less. Role gaming was books and funny shaped dice long before it was something played on a computer.

It doesn't matter what the device, gaming is either non-electricity using, or it is.

So I was there in the beginning, and I am here now.
    I've seen board games and role games back when they were simple products.
    I watched them get fancy and then aided by computer generation processes.
    I recall all the pre 90s proto computer devices.
    I've also used all the latest options, laptops, tablets, cellphones, and various ways to get online.

There seems to be a single common all-encompassing detail connected to all of gaming.
    It seems like it's all been done.

I'm wondering, is it possible, gaming is not dead or dying, just suffering from a complete lack of a way to do it differently enough to care.

I recall how totally awesome Tactics II was, until I discovered Blitzkrieg, until I discovered Third Reich, until I discovered Civilization.
    I played some weird notions created by the local gang prior to 1st edition advanced D&D. Which went to 2nd fairly fast. Which became 3rd edition. And during this, I experienced quite a few other designs all trying to beat the original notion of Chain mail somehow. I really got into 4th edition AD&D, but only because they let the Alternity design just fade away. I actually like Warhammer FRP 2nd edition the most.

But the world of computer games pretty much stole the show.