Have I Been Left Behind?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have I Been Left Behind?

I am new to the site and forums, and this is my first post/question. I'm hoping other forum members can offer some guidance.

Is there a WWII and/or Civil War based game out there for those of us who are interested in taking up gaming, but have never attempted it before? Or have I been irretrievably left behind? I am a complete novice. The last video game of any sort I played with regularity was Centipede back in the early 80s. I recently inherited a PS2 console from my daughter (and I have a relatively new PC running Vista with plenty of memory and power as an alternative console for computer based games). I'd like to try playing some games, but I'm intimidated. Most games seem built for people who already have experience playing. There doesn't seem to be anything both easy and interesting enough for older novices. Are there games (single player at first)out there that don't have a huge learning curve to help me get into gaming? Ideally, I think I'd like flight-based, individual shooter or small unit games that are forgiving, have decent graphics and allow one to move on to progressively harder scenarios, while remaining interesting in the early learning phase.

Thanks for any help.

Originally posted by Ajhall View Post
    I am new to the site and forums, and this is my first post/question. I'm hoping other forum members can offer some guidance.